Special Dates: Ceremonies, Holidays, and Interims

Zen Center invites you to join us for these special ceremonies, as well as to be aware of the changes to our regular schedule. For more information, click on the event, call 415.863.3136, or email ccoffice@sfzc.org.

Full Moon Ceremonies

Each month at the full moon, the community gathers to renew our Bodhisattva vows. All are welcome. This is a formal ceremony including chanting and full bows. If it is your first full moon ceremony or you are unfamiliar with the forms, please follow others in offering incense or flower petals before entering the Buddha Hall and be sure to take a chant card. For more information, contact the office at 415.863.3136.

An example of the ceremony can be downloaded here. The text of the ceremony is also available for download: Full Moon Bodhisattva Ceremony (PDF)

2017 Full Moon Ceremonies - Ryaku Fusatsu
January 11 (Wednesday, 6:30 am)
February 10 (Friday, 6:30 am)
March 11 (Saturday, 7:15 am)
April 11 (Tuesday, 6:30 am)
May 10 (Wednesday, 6:30 am)
June 9 (Friday, 6:30 am)
July 8 (Saturday, 7:15 am)
August 8 (Tuesday, 6:30 am)
September 6 (Wednesday, 6:30 am)
October 6 (Friday, 6:30 am)
November 3 (Friday, 6:30 am)
December 1 (Friday, 6:30 am)

Suzuki Roshi Memorial Services

Memorial services for our founder, Shunryu Suzuki Roshi, are held on the 3rd of each month at the time of evening service (6:15 pm weekdays), and on the 4th of each month at the time of morning service (6:30 am weekdays, 7:10 am Saturdays). For Saturday evening and Sunday times, contact the office at 415.863.3136. All are welcome to attend.

In 2017, the annual memorial ceremony will be held as for the monthly memorials on Sunday, December 3, time to be determined, and Monday, December 4, at the time of morning service, 7:00 am.

Interims
April, June, August and December (see dates below)

During the interim breaks the regular schedule is optional for residents. The zendo (meditation hall) will continue to be open for meditation, staffed by volunteers. Sign up on the volunteer sheet near the zendo or contact the ino if you would like to volunteer to be doan or doorwatch in the morning or evening during the interim. Thank you.

2017 Ceremonies

2017 Holidays, Interims, and Schedule Changes